(07 June, 1842 - 26 Nov.,1934)
(Author of "Manassas to
Appomattox, The Civil War Memoirs of Pvt. Edgar Warfield, 17th Virginia
EPM Publications, Inc. McLean
Virginia. (ISBN: 1-889324-04-3)
Born 7th June, 1842, Edgar Warfield was
the second of nine children of parents, Abel David Warfield and Sarah
Ann Adams. One of two founding members of The Old Dominion Rifles (who
became Company H, The 17th Virginia Infantry Regiment), he enlisted at
18 in Alexandria where he was a drug clerk in the store of Wat Tyler
He fought alongside his comrades through
every major engagement of The Army of Northern Virginia except
Chancellorsville, Gettysburg and the Wilderness surviving the war. He
was present At Blackburn's Ford, the opening skirmish of First Manassas
(or 1st Bull Run as it is known by the Union) and served the full four
years of the war ending up at Appomatox in 1865. He began the war, as he
finished, as a private but his post war career and activities have
helped to preserve the deeds and memories of his Company, Regiment and
comrades in the whole of the Army of Northern Virginia.
After the war he returned to the drug
business with his old comrade-in-arms William J. Hall when he opened a
drugstore at the south west corner of Prince and Fairfax Streets, Alexandria,
Virginia under the name; "Warfield and Hall". He was
just 23 years of age.
He married Miss Catherine Virginia
Batchellor, of Charlottesville, Virginia five years after the war's end
and had two sons. Catherine died in 1914 whereas Edgar survived
all of his siblings, the last, his eldest sister, passed away in 1931.
His father died suddenly in 1886 whilst hi mother survived for a further
In the post war years, Edgar served as a
member of the board of stewards of the M. E. Church, South for a time.
He also was the fire chief of Alexandria for a while. His greatest
interest was in Masonry and in Confederate Veteran activities.
He was one of the oldest members of
Andrew Jackson Lodge, No. 120, and became a Master Mason in that Lodge
in 1872. He served as Worshipful Master of this Lodge in 1879-80,
1880-81, 1888-89 and held many other positions in Masonry as well as
being a member of The Scottish Rite and the Mystic Shrine.
Twenty years after the war he was one of
the organisers of the R. E. Lee Camp of Confederate Veterans and
always took a keen interest in all Veteran activities and issues. Not
only did he serve as Commander of the R. E. Lee Camp he was also the
commander of the Grand Camp of Confederate Veterans of Virginia, United
Confederate Veterans in which capacity he served three terms.
It was through his activities that the
Battle Flag of the Seventeenth Virginia Infantry Regiment was returned
to the R. E. Lee Camp and, it was fitting that, it was this same flag
that draped his coffin at his funeral on November 28th, 1934. It was
Edgar Warfield that proposed a monument was raised in tribute to the
Alexandrians who gave their lives for the Confederate cause. On May
24th, 1889, this monument was unveiled at the junction of Prince and
Washington Streets, Alexandria. Called the "Appomatox
Monument" it marks the site where the men of Alexandria
assembled to march to Manassas
all those years before. On the south side the inscription reads;
"Erected in memory of the Confederate dead of Alexandria, Virginia
by their surviving comrades, May 24, 1889." On December 1st,
1930, Edgar Warfield was appointed Brigadier General of the Third
Brigade, United Confederate Veterans.
He kept in close contact with his former
Montgomery Dent Corse after the war who was a regular visitor to
Warfield and Hall. Here the three veterans would retell their war
stories and share their memories of those fateful days.
At his funeral, the pastor said of Edgar
Warfield; "the march of another soldier is over. His battles are
all fought, his victories all won, and as in other days he lies down to
rest awhile under the arching sky, awaiting the bugle's call."